Quid Pro Quo

Quid Pro Quo is Latin, and means “What for what’’ or ‘’Something for something’’. The mutual consideration that passes between two parties to a contractual agreement, thereby rendering the agreement valid and binding.

In politics quid quo pro can refer to the use of political office for personal benefit. For instance, an elected official might promise favorable governmental treatment to a person in exchange for something of value. This form of quid pro quo would be a violation of the law.

The former Chief Justice of India (CJI), Justice P Sathasivam, was appointment as the Governor of Kerala August 31, 2014, post retirement.


The former CJI was responsible for quashing an FIR against BJP President Amit Shah in the Tulsiram Prajapati case, in April 2013. Earlier Justice Sathasivam had shifted the Sohrabuddin case to Maharashtra.

The professional dictum is that “judges do not speak, they speak only through their judgments”.  Justice Sathasivam had gone out of the way to justify and defend judgement in the Amit Shah case in media interviews, thus clearly violating this particular value of judicial conduct.

The 1987 batch IPS officer A K Sharma, was Joint Director of Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) by the Modi Government on April 22, 2015.

A-K-SharmaArun Kumar Sharma an 1987 Batch IPS Officer was appointed as Joint Director of CBI for a period of five years. Prior to this appointment Sharma was heading Ahmedabad Detection of Crime Branch (DCB) as Special Commissioner a post created for the first time. The CBI in Gujarat had probed Sohrabuddin Sheikh, his wife Kauser Bi, their aide Tulsiram Prajapati as well as Ishrat Jahan and Sadiq Jamal Mehtar encounter cases.

During the investigation of Ishrat Jahan encounter Sharma’s name had cropped up in a CD where he was allegedly present in a meeting along with other officers for “derailing the investigation.” Sharma also featured in an alleged snooping controversy on a young woman architect from Bangalore reportedly “under watch” by the then officers including IPS officer G L Singhal, a key accused in Ishrat Jahan encounter, and the then Minister of State for Home Amit Shah, for one “Saheb”. He was appointed as Joint Director of CBI on April 22, 2015.

The 1978 batch IRS officer K V Chowdary, was appointed Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) of India on June 8, 2015, immediately after retirement.


As Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBTD) Chief, when the CBI handed over the documents in the now famous Birla and Sahara Papers, K V Chowdary did not persue the matter. Ideally, the CBI should have investigated the contents of the documents found in its raids.

Instead, CBI handed over the sensitive information to the IT department and the CBTD Chief quietly buried the evidence that ‘Gujarat CM’ was paid a sum of Rs. 40 crore and 7 lakh by Birla and Rs. 55 crore by Sahara, in several installments. He was appointed Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) of India on June 8, 2015, immediately after retirement.

Rakesh Asthana was named Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) Director by the government on December 2, 2016.

Rakesh AsthanaR K Asthana, 1984 batch Gujarat cadre IPS officer who had overseen the initial probe into the Godhra train fire, was appointed as CBI Special Director, the number 2 position in the premier investigative agency on Dec 2, 2016. Just before the appointment Special Director R K Dutta, who was among the front runners for the CBI Chief post, was shifted to the Home Ministry as a special secretary after creating a post of second special secretary was formed for the first time in the Home Ministry.

In Gujarat, Asthana was part of the Special Investigation Team that investigate the Godhra train burning case of 2002. He is believed close to the state government and held vital posts, including Commissioner of Police in Vadodara and Surat.

Former CBI Director R K Raghavan was appointed as India’s High Commissioner to Cyprus on August 30, 2017, post retirement.

As Special Investigation Team Chief, R K Raghavan had cleared the then Gujarat Chief Minister Modi of complicity in the 2002 Gujarat Raghavanriots. He was appointed as head of a Supreme Court-appointed special investigation team (SIT) that probed the Gujarat riots, after allegations of bias against the state police. In the case relating to Modi, SIT said in 2012 that “it had found no evidence to back allegations that the then CM had done nothing to stop some of the worst massacres in 2002”. The court accepted the SIT findings.

In April 2017, the Supreme Court approved Raghavan’s request to resign from his post in the SIT and on 30 August 2017, the Ministry of External Affairs  announced that Raghavan had been appointed the next High Commissioner to Cyprus.

Y C Modi, Special Director CBI was appointed Director General of the National Investigation Agency (NIA) on September 17, 2017.

y-c-modi.jpgYogesh Chander Modi a 1984 batch Assam and Meghalayacadre IPS officer was another member of the SIT which probed the Gujarat riots, which gave clean chit to the then CM Narendra Modi. He was part of the CBI team that investigated three cases during the Godhra riots – the Naroda Gam, Gulberg Society and Naroda Patiya cases.

Yogesh Modi was appointed an additional director in the CBI in July 2015 and served the premier investigating agency for over two years before taking charge of the NIA. His appointment comes at a time when in June 2017, NIA & its special prosecutor in the 2008 Malegaon blasts case, Rohini Salian,  spared over going ‘soft’ to protect Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur. The fate of other terror accused like Lt Col Prasad Shrikant Purohit, Swami Aseemanand, Shiv Narayan Gopal Singh Kalsanghra and Shyam Bhawarlal Sahu are dependent on NIA taking the investigations to logical conclusion.

With these example hope you understand the meaning and usage “Quid Pro Quo’’.

Some of the important officers of Gujarat cadre posted at the Centre after Modi became PM are –

Rajeev Topno (1996 Batch IAS Officer) – Private Secretary to PM

Arvind Kumar Sharma (1988 Batch IAS Officer) – Joint Secretary to PM

Hasmukh Adhia (1981 Batch IAS Officer) – Secretary, Department of Revenue

Tapan Ray (1982 Batch IAS Officer) – Secretary, Ministry of Corporate Affairs

P K Mishra (1972 Batch Retired IAS Officer) – Additional Principal Secretary to PM

Pradeep Kumar Pujari (1981 Batch IAS Officer) – Secretary, Ministry of Power

Ashim Khurana (1983 Batch IAS Officer) – Chairman, Staff Selection Commission

Amarjit Singh (1982 Batch IAS Officer) – Special Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: