Melancholy Heart


So many feelings wash over me
Happiness as soon as you are near
Joy at the sound of your voice
Elation when you whisper my name.
Sadness when you have to leave
 
A feeling comes when we say goodnight
I don’t want to let you go
I feel it building up in me
Wanting to say something
But, I push it back down
 
Afraid that it’s not the right time
Terrified that I will mess things up
Afraid that it’s not the right thing to say
Not knowing if I shower you joy,
Or I bring you indomitable pain.
 
There are so many things I want to say.
So many feelings I have.
Are they real, are they true.
Only my heart knows and
I know yours does too.
 
Then I wonder if I’m too attached
If my feelings are too overbearing
I wonder if by saying anything
I would make you more attached to me
And hurt each other in the process.
 
I don’t want to mess up what we have
At the same time I want to stop you
Look into your exquisite eyes
And tell you what I’m feeling
The words from my heart – straight and true
 
Then, I bite my tongue hard
Afraid of the consequences
So many things I’m feeling
If only you could read my melancholy mind
To discover all of them for yourself

 

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

Footnote: Life gives you a chance to love, to work, to play and gaze at the stars. That a day spent with dreaming, finding beauty in flowers, the refreshing breezes on your face and watching the sun set, cannot be bettered.  I learned that life is about walking on the bench hand in hand and sometimes, on good days, for falling in love. But most of all, my biggest learning is that life is simply a collection of little lives, each lived one day at a time.

  1. Have liked your poem and will visit again for more. Thank you for ‘Melancholy Heart’

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

